My Core Nutrition

I’m pretty consistent with a core structure to my nutrition each day.  This is the basis around which I adapt my nutrition for training and pre races.  

If I am aiming to lose body fat I dial down the number of snacks.  If I’m in a hard period of training, I increase them.  Simple.

The key for me is to be eating every 2 to 3 hours, making sure each intake is balanced with carbs and protein.

I’ve found a structure that works for me around my busy schedule.  The less I have to do or think about, the easier it is.

Of course I’ll deviate when on holiday or having time out with friends or family, but 95% of the time this structure is what works for me.

Six meals a day….and that’s not including any recovery nutrition.

Shake, snack, shake, snack, evening meal, snack.  

Breakfast:

  • Healthy Meal replacement shake
  • Herbal Tea
  • Aloe

Berry Blast! Black Forest frozen berries with Raspberry and Blueberry shake
Sport Berry! Creamy vanilla shake with frozen summer fruits

Mid Morning Snack:

  • Some almonds or walnuts or
  • Skyr yoghurt (Lidl do a great one) or
  • Lean ham and ryvita or
  • Protein bar or
  • Hard boiled eggs
  • Almonds
    Eggs, avocado and salad
Skyr protein yoghurt from Lidl

      Lunch:

      • Healthy Meal Replacement shake
      • Piece of fruit


      Mid Afternoon Snack:

      • Same as mid morning snack or
      • Apple & peanut butter
      • Protein Drink Mix

      Protein Drink Mix and fresh berries. 170 calories and 15g of protein
      Protein bar. 150calories, 10g of protein and it’s covered in chocolate!

        Dinner:

        A real variety, sometimes vegetarian, more often than not fish or poultry based.  I eat red meat approximately once a month.  More for taste reasons and the fact I find it takes me longer to digest than any health benefit.

        I tend not to eat much pasta, rice or breads. Instead getting my carbohydrates from vegetables such as broccoli, carrots, cauliflower and sweet potato.  I don’t exclude carbohydrates, I just choose lower GI sources.

        Some examples are:

        • Turkey stir fry
        • Chicken, bacon and avocado salad
        • Paella
        • Salmon fillet & salad
        • Omelette and salad


        And for a snack in the early evening, I’ll mix it up but it will almost always be protein based.  This could be another shake, a protein bar, yoghurt, eggs & ryvita.

        I also supplement with vitamins, omega 3, fibre, calcium, B12 and turmeric (immune system support) but I’ll cover supplementation and sports nutrition in another blog later on to explain what I take and why.

        Took me 6 months to realise that I could not outrun what I put in my mouth.  I only started to improve when I changed my diet not my activity.

        Leave a Reply

        